Tile Forum | America Tile Forum

Welcome to America Tile Forum, the USA Tile Industry. The Tile Association of America.

Discuss Crack repairs to stone floors in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

M

markcollings

Hi everyone. I am a Building Surveyor and have been reading your forum with interest. I am currently dealing with two properties where limestone tiling laid over heated screeds has cracked. I have uncovered the screed in both properties and found the cracking indeed extends through and seems to be as a result of shrinkage due to insufficient drying and heat cycling of the under floor heating prior to laying the stone tiling. In both instance no separating layer such as Ditra Matting was installed.

In both instances I need to specify a repair to the stone floors. In both properties this will require cutting out and replacing approximately 15 stone tiles. I am happy that the cracked tiles can be cut out and removed and new tiles bedded back in after with the floors refinished to avoid the new stones looking out of place. What I am concerned about is continued movement of the cracked screed below causing the new tiles to crack.

I have read with interest the threads relating to crack repair techniques including epoxy resin and steel needles which seems a sensible option to me. Hopefully this coupled with a flexible adhesive will help to prevent any further cracking of the replacement stone tiles. Has anyone used this technique as a repair for a damaged floor before and if so was it found to be successful? Does anyone have any trade info on products that are suitable for this type of repair.

The only other option in both instances will be to lift and relay the entire stone floor over Ditra Matting which would be incredibly costly as in both instances expensive kitchens would need to be removed.

I would appreciate any views members have on appropriate and lasting repairs.

Many thanks,