Tile Forum | America Tile Forum

Welcome to America Tile Forum, the USA Tile Industry. The Tile Association of America.

Discuss Can you backer board over standard toungue and groove floor boards? in the America area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

flippa

-
Reaction score
Hi all, please bare with me as I am a plasterer by trade but quite handy round the house. I want to tile my hallway with some new slick white tiles and follow straight through into the kitchen. Now I have done this many years ago at my old place with ply wood base but have never used these backer boards that a lot of the guys on site at work are harping on about.

My question is, can you backer board directly over standard floor boards with flexible adhesive and screws ready for tile or would you need to ply first then backer board. Or even just ply. I seem to get so many mixed responses on this one so have come here for some accurate advice from people in the know.

Any help would be very much appreciated. Thanks all.

flippa

-
Reaction score
Just use the backerboard straight onto the boards as long as thety are secure and deflection is at a minimum. I like to use hardibacker.. đź‘Ť
Thanks for your help Dave much appreciated buddy đź‘Ťđź‘Ťđź‘Ť

Kevbos

Arms
Reaction score
Please contribute to this thread if you have any new information or can even just reiterate what has been said already. :)
Hi all, please bare with me as I am a plasterer by trade but quite handy round the house. I want to tile my hallway with some new slick white tiles and follow straight through into the kitchen. Now I have done this many years ago at my old place with ply wood base but have never used these backer boards that a lot of the guys on site at work are harping on about.