Discuss Tanking Advice in the Tanking and Wetrooms Forum area at TilersForums.com.

Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm a newbie member building an ensuite, the three shower walls are aquapanel on studs (300mm centres, 3 rows of noggins, 2.3m high). I've taped and filled the joints with mapei keraquick.

I had intended to tank this using the Mapei tanking kit. I used the kit 10 years ago in our main bathroom for a similar project and it was a great success.

However I've been reading about the kit on a few forums and people are saying that this kit now requires aquapanel to be skimmed with a thin layer of adhesive, before then priming and tanking. I'm reluctant to do this as I don't trust myself to skim it level! This wasn't required the first time I used this kit and it has been fine, but I appreciate the product may have changed in the last 10 years. So I'm in a bit of a quandry.

Could I mix the keraquick to a relatively sloppy consistency that could be rollered on, and then tank that? Would this affect the bond?

Or should I look at another tanking product. I've seen the ardex kit - can that go straight on to aquapanel? The downside with this kit is there is no rubber profile to go over the shower tray like with the mapei, but I guess I could just use silicone between the tray and ardex and then again between the tray and tiles? The ardex kit advises using a stiff mix of ardex and tape for the joints, but I've already done that now with keraquick. Should I go over these again with the ardex tape and stiff mix or just go over the whole lot with the loose ardex mix on a roller?

If I use the ardex kit, can I still use keraquick as my adhesive (already bought!) or should I buy ardex adhesive too?

Can keraquick be mixed with water only on stud mounted aquapanel or does it require latex?

Sorry for all the questions, I thought my plan was sorted but has been thrown by the change in practice with the mapei kit! Thanks :)

Reaction score