Tile Forum | America Tile Forum

Welcome to America Tile Forum, the USA Tile Industry. The Tile Association of America.

Discuss Issue with Granfix Flexible Fastset in the Canada area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

O

Old School

Hi,

This is my first post! Just a question to see if anyone has any experience using Granfix?

I have used Granfix Flexible Fastset for a job in which the tile shop supplied this adhesive. I have never used this adhesive before but the bag was labelled as fast set suitable for underfloor heating, wood, porcelain and waterproof.

The customer layer 18mm of marine ply and then laid Wediboard. He then fixed the underfloor heating and I came into screed the floor with the Granfix. I then tiled the floor the day after. When I tile I always apply my adhesive to the whole tile and then fix to floor.

However, one month later the customer explains to me the tiles are lifting off the floor. When I go to see what has happened I see the tiles have lifted and once the tile is removed it is clean, as if no adhesive has been applied. All the adhesive has large cracks in it.

The underfloor heating was put on 3 weeks after the job was complete. So I can't see this being the explanation.

Has anyone experienced this problem with this adhesive?

I have never seen this before and always use the same method that I have used in the past 26 years with my preferred adhesive, and think it is strange this happens on an adhesive I have never used before.

Thanks

W

White Room

Not an adhesive I use nowadays but never had any problems with it, did the customer turn the ufh up gradually....

O

Old School

The job was complete in February and the customer messaged me in May to say the tiles felt loose and grout was coming away. I did notice the under floor heating was on 19 degrees!

I think you may be right in thinking they didn't turn it up gradually and stuck it on full wack.

I have never seen this before!