Search the forum,

Discuss Washboy in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

M

MIKE1

I am new at tiling and am trying to keep initial costs down so can I get away with a sponge and bucket of water instead of a wash boy ?

D

Dicko1973

I know it is hard to just go out and buy all the tools straight away. But I would swear by the washboy, I know they can be pricey but you save the money on the time difference between the washboy and using a sponge and bucket, especially new tilers like you and me who haven't built up the speed yet.

Don't look at it as an expense but a money and time saving tool.

Dicko

W

White Room

For wall's yes, not for floor's my karl dahm washboy has saved me hour's and paid for itself time and time again, A good investment.

T

tiler burden

hi mike1

if your new to tiling and finding your feet, then i would assume you will be doing splash backs, small bathrooms and kitchens etc. if thats the case, then a washboy isnt a necessity at this stage so you can save you money initially until the cash flow improves . but as the guys above said, on larger areas, they are needed and they are excellent...

hope this helps mate

ed

D

DHTiling

wots the cost of a washboy..?.....how much does it cost to have a good night on the beer?

I think the washboys a cheaper night out....if you see wot i mean....

One job with a washboy and it will pay for itself in man hours saved doing it by hand sponge

T

tilermandan

a wash boy is one of the best investments you make in my opinion. although the initial payment may be a worry looked after this tool will last you for years and probably pay for itself in man hours saved quite quickly.:thumbsup:

G

Gazzer

As the others have said but yes you can get away with it,,,,,after all what did we do before they came along?

G

Gazzer

Very true but i also remember cutting quarry tiles with a hammer and chisel.
Point being, he can manage without washboy but i would put it very high on his list.