Tile Forum | America Tile Forum

Welcome to America Tile Forum, the USA Tile Industry. The Tile Association of America.

Discuss Underfloor heating Novice after a little assurance in the Canada area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

C

chris79327

Hello all,

I am an industrial Electrician/Technician and it is my intension to lay an Electric Heating mat in my conservatory as the primary/only heating source and I was just wondering if the experianced fitters among you could just confirm that the method I intend to use is correct.

1, I am going to lay a layer of self levelling latex to guarantee that I am starting with a level surface.

2, I am then going to screw 50mm batons at 450mm centres and lay 50mm celotex between every baton covering the entire floor

3, I am then going to screw interlocking tongue and groove (18mm thick) chipboard on top of the batons covering the entire floor

4, I will then lay my 200 w/m2 Electric heating mat (200 w m undertile heating mat kit 12m 2400W) on the chipboard and pour another layer of self levelling latex to get rid of any air pockets and give me a good surface for laying my Tiles on.

Sound good? Ive basically gone over the top with the insulation but I have the height to use under my door sills through to the lounge and the garden so I thought I may as well use it up and insulate the death out of it.

T

Time's Ran Out

I wouldn't tile on chipboard and 200w/m mat is for stone floors not wood.
Most only recommend 100w over wood.
Best contact a forum sponsor - U heat for sound advice.

R

Rookery

I wouldnt tile onto chipboard either. Assuming the sub-floor is concrete or sand/cement screed basically I would:
Prime
Fix marmox boards with rapidset flex adhesive
Lay heating mat
Pour latex
Tile with rapidset flex adhesive

Q

Qwerty

NO!!!!