Discuss Sealant set onto tiles? in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

J

jonty

I'm new to tiling but I put white sealant into a corner movement joint and then tried to wipe the excess off but it went all over the surrounding tiles now the sealant has hardened and i cant get it off. I've tried an orbital sander but it leaves a black mark/burn on the tile. Any ideas how to remove this?

A

aejrd

u can rub dry grout powder on it that sometimes brings marks off if they r glazed tiles

D

DHTiling

Something like this from screwfix or other makes from DIY stores... will do the job no probs...handy stuff to carry with you....

100ml. Removes silicone and acrylic sealants without damaging adjacent surfaces.
http://www.NoLinksToThis/sfd/i/cat/40/p1214640_l.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
R

Rad2474

Next time after applying the silicone spray it with washing up liquid and water to stop it sticking where you don't want it.Then you can easily wipe it away.

G

Gazzer

Lol , Dave i dont think that will remove the burn marks from the orbital sander though. :mad2:

D

DHTiling

If its just the silcone gone black it will..if he has marked the tiles then they need replacing..........:grin:

B

Big-Smudge

Next time after applying the silicone spray it with washing up liquid and water to stop it sticking where you don't want it.Then you can easily wipe it away.

Next time use cornertape to apply your silicone, you won't need any water or chemicals to remove the smudged silicone because you don't get into a mess with cornertape, its almost impossible. Which means that you won't waste your time cleaning up afterwards and can move onto the next job sooner.

The finish will also be better than anything you have seen before.

Best regards

Andy

D

dock