Tile Forum | America Tile Forum

Welcome to America Tile Forum, the USA Tile Industry. The Tile Association of America.

Discuss Newbie questions, tiling up to door frame in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

M

meclive

Hi guys, looking for a bit of advice. I'm a total tiling novice about to embark on my first go at tiling, so please bear with me if these are stupid questions!!

Firstly when tiling up to a door frame, should I just grout up to the frame or do I need to use sealer (I've read you need to do this with the wall corners otherwise the grout would crack when the walls move)?

Secondly, I can't seem to find the right point to start tiling. Wherever I seem to choose it leaves a small gap (of between 5 - 15mm) either above the window or over the door that would need to be filled with a tiny cut of tile. It's an odd shaped room with two windows 9of different sizes and one slightly lower than the other!), an air vent and sloped roof so not the easiest to start with on my first go but what the hell I might as well try! Any advice other than run a mile??

Thanks.

Edit: will try and get a picture up if it helps?

Last edited by a moderator:
D

DHTiling

The door frame.. some use silicone and others use flexible caulk..

The room, then a pic would deffo help us see what you have.

R

Rich

Id use a silicone that is a colour match to the grout, dont buy any old rubbish as it wont last very long. Pics would be very helpful. Also would be a help if you could let us know what size/type tiles you will be using and any adhesives/grouts/primers you have. :thumbsup:

D

david campbell

i also use silicone
can you introduce a border/listello to change your heights?:thumbsup:

C

CJ CERAMICS

sorry missed the second part of the post....lol i think pictures of the areas would give us more to work with

T

The Legend; Phil Hobson RIP