Discuss Making the best out of bad job in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

E

electricsheep

Hello with an SOS! I'm a complete newbie to DIY and everything I've learnt so far I've learnt from the interwebs and I hope this forum will be my salvation for my tiling problem.

When I was cleaning the kitchen in the 10-year old flat we recently bought, two and a quarter tiles fell off the corner where the tiling extends onto a very tall pillar. We subsequently removed the four tiles below which were also loose. I've cleaned off the old adhesive on the loose tiles and the area where they were fixed to the best I can. I've attached a picture of this area.

My problem is that the top part of the area where I want to re-stick the tiles seem to be made of MDF (I think it’s MDF anyway - it looks like exactly like the material the backs of Ikea Billy bookcases are made of), while the bottom half seems to be made of real wood - plywood I think. I managed the clean off the plywood area reasonably well but the MDF area is still sticky to the touch.

All my extensive Googling tells me tiling onto MDF is a big no no, but I have no option but to work with the dual surface areas I have - the pillar goes up to an unusually high ceiling and I would not want to strip and re-do anything as we can't afford something like that. I've seen people recommend Aquaplane but this does not sound like a good option to me, as the rest of the surrounding tiling is okay and the width of the Aquaplane would make my repair job obvious.

I bought Unibond's Advanced All Purpose Tile on Walls waterproof adhesive and grout from B&Q - which to my dismay many tiling pros seem to scoff at. However I didn't know any better and as I don't have a car B&Q is my best option as it's within walking distance. The preparation instruction on the tub says to "Prime porous surfaces with 1 part UniBond PVA diluted with 5 parts water, and allow to dry. Seal timber with solvent-based primer."