Discuss Grout Crumbling, Cracking, and Shrinkage in the Canada area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

T

tombgrout

Hello

I’ve been setting tile for 35 years, however I’m now retired and moved from Wisconsin to Arizona, a much dryer climate. In my all my years of setting tile, I never experienced crumbling, cracking, and shrinkage of tiled grout joints until moving to Arizona.

I’ve always taken precautions to insure that the grout wasn’t old, subjected or stored in a manner that would cause it to be contaminated by humidity/moisture. As a matter of fact as a further precaution, we stored the product in new clean 5 gallon plastic pails with the lid affixed. Obviously, the type of grout for the application is necessitated by the where it’s going to be used, floor, shower wall, shower surround, etc..

As experience would dictate, I always inspected and reinforced the floor structure where necessary to prevent any movement of the floor, used a 1” underlayment with ¼” Hardbacker, and everything was properly screwed down using Hardbacker screws every 6”, making sure that none of the screw heads protruded above the surface of the plywood or Hardbacker.

Special attention was always paid to insure that during grout clean up, that grout joints weren’t subjected to excessive moisture/water. The same applied to properly mixing the grout per manufacturers specifications and consistency. When necessary to prevent premature drying the floor, it was covered and misted appropriately at proper intervals.

To the point, no matter what I have done to achieve a decent grout joint that doesn’t exhibited crumbling, cracking, or shrinkage, while using the Custom Building Products PolyBlend Sanded Grout, I’ve experienced these unpleasant results, one or a combination of the three. I’ve used just about every trick in the trade and still one or more of these conditions persist.