Tile Forum | America Tile Forum

Welcome to America Tile Forum, the USA Tile Industry. The Tile Association of America.

Discuss En-Suite Shower - Tanking, Grout and Adhesive advice required in the Canada area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

R

R-Jeffery

Morning,

A complete novice to the site and to the industry so please be gentle.

I have recently had to rip out my shower due to mould and plasterboard damage. Upon removing tiles etc we found that the plasterboard used was standard board and that no tanking was completed either. (Pretty impressive for a 3 year old apartment :mad2:) - I'm assuming based on these failings that the incorrect grout and adhesive was used too.

Anyway I have just had moistureboard fitted and was planning on tanking & getting waterproof adhesive and grout.

I've been reading these forums for some weeks now and wanted some advice on a) what tanking kit to use b) whether waterproof adhesive and grout is required after tanking and if so which to use. c) Will I also need a specific sealant to finish off?

After the mess this has made I really just want to ensure that I cover all basis so that I dont come accross these issues again.

Help is much appreciated! :thumbsup:

R

R-Jeffery

Picture attached for reference, any help would be much appreciated.
New Image.jpg

R

R-Jeffery

From looking on the forum it appears that Mapei is a popular choice for tanking, gout and adhesive. I was planning therefore on going for the MAPEI Shower Waterproofing Kit, I was advised in a tile shop about Mapei ProFlexible for adhesive and Mapei Ultracolur Plus for the grout.

As per the picture the walls are 2.12M high and 0.88M wide with two walls requiring attention.

Are these OK to use? I keep seeing similar questions and comments regarding using the correct type of adhesive and grout to ensure that it remains waterproof.