Tile Forum | America Tile Forum

Welcome to America Tile Forum, the USA Tile Industry. The Tile Association of America.

Discuss Qualifications needed for domestic / private work in the Australia area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

acaciaguy

TF
Arms
Reaction score
hello all,

I have posted on this site before but not for a while ( I promise to try harder!). This a great forum and is of great support to me.

I have been tiling for approx 15 years. Not full time but more part time as part of my other roles within the property business. I have learnt all I know from working with seasoned tilers, going on bal and other manufacture training, as well as reading about tiling standards and methods online such as on here. I’m always learning and always want to know that what I’m doing is right and best for customers needs. I do not have any formal qualifications. I do not want to work on site. I love the domestic / private work I do and customers love my work. I don’t advertise it’s all word of mouth / recommendations. When I come across something new I will ask others for help and advice or hand it off to someone else if I’m not 100% sure I will do the best job. My question is - is still okay to work without any qualifications ? Have there been any changes anywhere or are any planned that people know about saying that you must have a certificate / licence / be a member of an official scheme to undertake domestic tiling.

Many thanks as ever

T

Time's Ran Out

As long as you have insurance and you pay your tax then anyone can do domestic work, whether it’s tiling, carpentry, painting etc just go for it!
It’s one of those trades that no qualifications are required, invest in a few tools and a nice sign written van, tout your services and as you’ve found the phone never stops.
Full time, part time, evenings and weekends just whenever you want it’s easy!
The only skill you need is to enjoy it.

acaciaguy

TF
Arms