Discuss Porous tile in wet room? in the America Tile Forum area at TilersForums.com.

T

thaumata

Hi. This is such a great forum!

I'm about to put a wet room into my (upstairs) bathroom. I'm a newbie homeowner and this is my first big renovation project, so I'm really nervous about buying the right materials. I'm getting some conflicting advice regarding travertine tile and wondered if you could set me straight, please?

I have a pro-installer coming to do the tanking/tiles. He tells me to avoid anything porous (like travertine.)

The guy at the tile shop has told me to buy whatever I want, so long as I seal it properly.

So who is correct? If I go with travertine, how often should I expect to seal it?

Also, is there any reason for/against mosaic tiles on the floor? (I just wondered if the slope to the drain will make them difficult to install or just generally not a good idea.)

Thank you so much for any advice. I really appreciate it!

S

Stewart

The shops correct.... You can install any stone you like as long as it's been sealed properly. As for the mosaics... rhey are fine on a wetroom floor as long as substrate is suitable for them.

widler

TF
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
personally i don't like travertine on floors,even if its honed/filled you still get holes in it with high heels or kids dropping stuff on it..(but thats just me,bad experiance with it)
as fo the mosiac,imo,shouldent be a problem to any good tiler whichever you put down,be it ceramic,porca or mosiac

G

Gazzer

personally i don't like travertine on floors,even if its honed/filled you still get holes in it with high heels or kids dropping stuff on it..(but thats just me,bad experiance with it)
as fo the mosiac,imo,shouldent be a problem to any good tiler whichever you put down,be it ceramic,porca or mosiac

Yeah dont wear high heals in the wetroom !!!!!!

T

thaumata

Has he priced for ceramics ?