Discuss Kitchen splashback advice in the Canada area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

Reaction score
Hi folks, new to the forum and I'm a DIY novice with no tiling experience to speak of. Been reading through the forum recently and got some great tips and I'm considering a tiling course further down the line.

Quick question for those with more experience; started tiling my kitchen splashback this weekend. U shaped kitchen, mixed mosaic tile behind the cooker then using 600x300 elsewhere. Original plan was 1.5 tiles high at wall behind sink and window in line with end of the cabinets, now thinking of 2 tiles high instead? Is 600 too high for a splashback?

Will try and upload a couple of images!

Much appreciated.

Reaction score
Hopefully this works
IMG_20180930_215847.jpg
IMG_20180930_215859.jpg
MVIMG_20180930_215910.jpg
IMG_20180930_215825.jpg

T

Time's Ran Out

Welcome and enjoy the forum.
I would normally tile splash backs to the height of the underside of the wall mounted units. This can vary but 600mm is a bit high, although 2 full tiles can look better than cuts. Or you can tile them portrait 600mm high.

Reaction score
Welcome and enjoy the forum.
I would normally tile splash backs to the height of the underside of the wall mounted units. This can vary but 600mm is a bit high, although 2 full tiles can look better than cuts. Or you can tile them portrait 600mm high.

Thanks for the response. Yeah think the 600 might be a little high myself. In hindsight I probably should have taken a little off the bottom row to so the grout line was more central?? Ah well, too late now!!
Cheers

W

Waluigi

For arguments sake a Kitchen worktop is 900mm from the floor.