Search the forum,

Discuss Do all Porcelain tiles need cleaning before sealing in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

S

slikt

Hi Guys,

Most of you are probably getting bored of me now. . lol

Yet another question about my flooring. . I bought some polished Porcelain from Tile Giant (Jakarta Vanilla) the guy said that they would need sealing, so I bought some LTP MPG, but now the tiles are down, they look, slightly matt in places, is this wax and if it isnt, do they still need to be cleaned first, before sealing. . .

. . also, do they need sealing before grouting (same colour as the tile) as I was told to just seal afterwards?

Cheers everyone for your help so far, without it I would of defo fooked up somewhere :thumbsup:

S

slikt

Hi Kilty, i'll pick some up in the morning. . any recommendations mate? Also i've never used MPG before, am I to assume that this will seal the grout and stop it from staining etc?

D

doug boardley

your tiles want to be free from dirt, transit wax, and bone dry before you seal them, mpg is an excellent choice:thumbsup:

kilty55

TF
Arms
Reaction score
hmm are you laying white grout did you say

kitchen floor? high traffic.....personally i would opt for another colour

D

Daz

I usually fix Jakarta Vanilla with white adhesive, grout with Mapei Ultracolour Jasmin or Ardex FS Classic Vanilla. The tiles do not have a transit wax from my experience and are not the most porous polished porcelain that I have used. The grouting and washing process seems to clean the tiles sufficiently, so that they are ready for application of LTP MPG after a couple of days.

Go careful & good luck,

Daz

S

slikt