Search the forum,

Discuss Advice for laying a black limestone hearth underneath log burner in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

M

Morph3ous

Hi,

We're having a log burner installed in a couple of weeks and need to lay a new hearth beforehand. We like the dark coloured natural look and found some nice flagstones at B&Q. They were black limestone. I think these are the ones...

B&Q Select Natural Quarry Limestone Black (L)60 x (W)60cm, 5030659049582

I'm going to be laying them onto a concrete base, but I'm a complete novice and have a couple of questions please.

1) Should I use a particular type of adhesive considering the log burner will be going on top and the heat involved?
2) I've read some threads quoting how much the tiles can stain, and that they should be sealed before grout? We wouldn't want any gloss or wet look finish, just the natural matt tile. Which sealant would be best for this and again, considering a log burner will be going on top?
3) Any particular grout that I should use? A colour match as close as I can get would be best.
4) I'll have to cut some of the tiles. Does it cut easily? Any particular blade I should use?

Thank you in advance.

Last edited by a moderator:
D

DHTiling

Only 20mm thick.. you can get black limestone pavers cheaper than that..( 30mm thick)..

As for sealer.. you want them to look as black as possible.. so Aqua mix Enrich and seal is a good one and leaves a matt finish but colour enhancers the stone..
You can bed in sand and cement but add SBR to improve the adhesion and strength of the mix..

Grout.. either a mid grey or black grout..

M

Morph3ous

Thanks for your reply.

Sorry, what is SBR?

I'll look into Aqua mix Enrich. I read about LTP Mattstone Sealer on here. Any good? One better than the other? I just want to prevent any stains and prolong the life, whilst keeping the original natural finish. Not after anything fancy as it were...

D

DHTiling