Search the forum,

Discuss Random cracks in Limestone Floor tiles in the Canada Tile Advice area at TilersForums.com.

C

CamR

All,

I have a specific issue that would benefit from knowledgeable, 3rd party advice

We have just had a new limestone floor fitted on to a newly laid concrete floor with wet UFH

So far we have found 21 cracked tiles, they are random throughout the tiled area which is a lounge, dining room, kitchen, approx 45m2

The UFH temp is set at a steady 18 degrees

The tiles have been laid with flexible adhesive and NOT dot & dab

I do not know how the heating was applied after the tiles were laid because we are not in the property and the builders managed that bit.

Both Tiler and builder reckon they have laid similar floors with no problems in the past and are trying to get me to talk to the stone tile supplier.

My initial searches on the forum suggest that expansion gaps and de-coupling membranes should have been used but I am no expert and I may be jumping on a bandwagon trying to find a cause.

I would appreciate some comments that I could share with the builder/tiler

Thanks in advance

CamR

Ajax123

TF
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
Newly laid concrete floor....what sort of concrete?? Are we talking sand gravel and cement or are we talking screed. Was it cured, was it dry, was the underfloor heating comissioned, lots of possible issues. I agree uncoupling membrane should have been used but several other steps should have been followed as well.

C

CamR

Newly laid concrete floor....what sort of concrete?? Are we talking sand gravel and cement or are we talking screed. Was it cured, was it dry, was the underfloor heating comissioned, lots of possible issues. I agree uncoupling membrane should have been used but several other steps should have been followed as well.

Thanks for the response, is it possible to jot down the steps that should have been followed so that I can then ask the relevant questions of the builder/tiler?

CamR

Ajax123

TF