Search the forum,

Discuss Need advice waterproof tile adhesive/grout and tanking in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

T

Tonto

I'm not a professional, just a housewife at the end of her tether. When living in Oz I found out it was building regs that to tile a wall, shower or splashback it had to have a waterproof membrane. It was explained that tiles do expand and contract to a certain degree and the damage from a small escape of water, as in my case because of a tiny hole in the grout, is enormous.

This is the second time I've had to rip out shower and replaster wall all because water came in, as there was a small gap in grout which I didn't spot and didn't realise the damage that it could do, well not until I spotted salty stuff seeping through my son's wall. My plumber/tiler tiled straight on to newly plastered wall without any waterproof membrane, didn't use waterproof or waterproof adhesive or grout. He didn't tell me that there were products that could help stop this sort of thing happening. Is it called "tanking?"

I phoned institute of plumbing a few years back and asked if there were statutory regs. to ensure any tiling on walls had some sort of waterproof membrane, quoting what I knew in Australia. Needless to say he thought I was barking.

On doing some research, thanks to you guys and other helpful forums, I understand that after plastering I should use BAL WP1 waterproofing kit or similar first and thanks to Youtube it shows how to do it - something I think I can do.

It's quite expensive but assume it's the best to use?

I told my tiler that this is what I'm going to do before he starts tiling (again I'm sorry to say he never mentioned a waterproof membrane until I told him).

My next query is that he tells me to get a waterproof all in one adhesive/tile grout. Is that the best option or should it be two separate things. Waterproof tile adhesive and a separate grout. Or is there a product that can do all in one?