Discuss Is BAL/Mapei really that good? in the Canada Tile Advice area at TilersForums.com.

A

ag1975

I'm not a pro tiler but do jobs every now and again for friends and family, my question is do I need to splash out on BAL and Mapei or do I go for something cheaper? I used Dunlop on a hallway the other day and it seems fine, got it for at least half the price as the top brands. Do I only need the top brands if I tile regularly?

Cheers.

W

White Room

Use what you feel comfortable with, it's also whats available in your area.

I use weber because I have a local supplier, dunlop tends to be more of a lower grade type product compared to others IMO and not a product that would be my first choice.

Last edited by a moderator:
S

Scottell17

I believe in using the best you can get when it comes to adhesives and grouts you really can't cut corners , I've tried many other products and have had some disasters, imo nothing comes close to mapei, worth paying the extra for ;-) but it's like what whitbeam said find the product your comfortable with

S

Scottell17

Both Dunlop and Bal are separate companies but probably the same product tbf but owed by the Ardex group :) think it's German? Not 100% sure if it is german tho

R

Rookery

I also use Mapei as my 1st choice. Today I tried Webber RSF for the first time. It seems good but I find I get better pot life with Mapei so any savings made with a cheaper brand could be lost if I have to throw part of a mix away.

C

Ceramico tiling

judge the quality of the adhesive based on the conditions of the job at hand. Obviously MAPEI and BAL are fine products with substantial guarantees and a must for exterior work and water effected areas etc etc,,But Dunlop is fine for kitchen backsplashes,low movement ares etc.No point in spending unnecessarily!!

C

Ceramico tiling