Search the forum,

Discuss help with strange customer in the Australia Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

M

monkey68

I've been tiling for 12 years now never really had problems with customers till now!
started work on a house before xmas where we did 3 bathrooms, first two went well got paid for them in November everything great. then started the third bathroom everything great customer said he is well pleased with all 3 finished of second fix on last bathroom around 17th December and got paid on xmas eve night which I was not too happy about as need xmas shopping done. anyway , week after new year customer said he is not happy with one wall on the last bathroom I did, and said he has another tiler in to fix it (not giving me an opportunity to put the job right)now another two weeks later he wants the whole bathroom wall and floors ripped out and re-tiled by this other guy, no mention of money has been spoken about as yet, he now wants me to go in take out bathroom suite let other tiler rip off tiles and re-tile then for me to go back and fit suite, what would you guys do ???????

T

Time's Ran Out

Tell him to whistle!
Not my best bit of advice supplied on this forum and as we have only your input that he was initially happy with your work ( and he wouldn't have paid unless under duress) so not sure what you should do.
Sometimes customer relations are given too much importance. There are time served Tilers who complete great work and then struggle to get paid. Then there are Tilers who can do better jobs and find fault in all work, and at the end of the day it's down to the customer to decide if they think your work is acceptable. They did, they paid, you had a nice Christmas.
Tell them as they've brought in another tiler without your consent any guarantee you may have given is now null and void.
If you post some pictures you may find some replies that support your customer!

widler

TF
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score