Search the forum,

Discuss Cracked Plaster Around multi-fuel stove in the Canada Tile Advice area at TilersForums.com.

S

synott.nicola

Hi, I am a diy amateur enthusiast. I have recently completed my first tiling job (kitchen splashback) and it turned out really well!! My next project is to tile (ceramic tiles) the back of a multifuel stove (situated in a corner of the kitchen) to protect the walls from marks etc (plastered and painted). There were what I thought were some hairline cracks in the plaster but when I went to check for loose paint and clean down the walls it turned out to be more than hairline cracks and the plaster is just falling off the wall. Photos attached. Anyway my questions are: What would you advise? 1) Remove the plaster in the area to be tiled completely and tile onto the plasterboard? If so use what adhesive? I have evo-stik rapid curing quick set ceramic tile adhesive, would this be ok? 2) replaster using a sand, lime, cement mix? If so what proportions? Would 4 weeks be required for this to dry fully before tiling? 3) Install some fireproof board behind the stove and tile onto that? If so what board and how would I attach this to the wall? Thanks a million in advance!! 4) Any other advise greatly appreciated. Nicola

Attachments

• 007.jpg
    61.7 KB · Views: 39
  • 005.jpg
    52.6 KB · Views: 42
  • 004.jpg
    58.9 KB · Views: 39
  • 002.jpg
    69 KB · Views: 42

Ajax123

TF
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
Tis cracking looks indicative of the plaster being over heated and dehydrating. It s shot basically so you shold be able to scrape it off reasonably easily so that you can tile directly to the plasterboard underneath. You might need to gently sand it once you ave taken the plaster off in order to get rid of any dust. Vacuum and the wipe with a damp cloth followed by priming with a heat resistant primer. Acrylic should be fine. Then tile with a flexible tile adhesive

S

synott.nicola