Tile Forum | America Tile Forum

Welcome to America Tile Forum, the USA Tile Industry. The Tile Association of America.

Discuss Bathroom Retile Tool Advice in the DIY Tiling Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

T

trogre

Hello All. Hope you all had a good Xmas, as usual I ate too much and now suffering.

Not a Tiler by trade just a DIyer. Tiled my kitchen a couple of times in past + the bathroom once.

Started out using a scribe then trying to break tiles over a block which did not work. Then went up to a Wickes tiler cutter which for ceramic was ok but very slow going back & forth to garage.

Need to retile the bathroom and am going to use 250 x 400 x 8 mm ceramic tiles. The long cuts will only by at the ceiling but for the corners & ends it will be just the 250mm cut, I think it is a total of around 90 tiles before cutting.

I have been reading a lot on how you do not need a wet cutter for straight cuts but a dry cutter. The two I have been looking at are the Rubi 50-N Plus £84.99 Screwfix. Most of YouTube vids I have seen on Rubi seem to be in Russian but they seem to hold the 2 bars up as they press down on lever .Do not know if this is because of too much flex in tube or just the way it is done.

The Big Clinker 2 to be honest for my 400 mm tiles does seem a bit of overkill but seems from reviews of professional tiles a very efficient cutter. Then gain they were talking about cutting the larger porcelain tiles rather than the much smaller ceramic tiles. There is about £25 difference in the price of the 2 at screwfix which is not a lot if there is a difference in cutting quality. I am not one to sell my tools after use so will go into loft.