Tile Forum | America Tile Forum

Welcome to America Tile Forum, the USA Tile Industry. The Tile Association of America.

Discuss victorian floor tiles in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

U

Unregistered

I bought a old victorian house last year. I have taken up the old victorian tiled pathway as it was dangerous to walk on, in a dire state, tiles missing, it had heaved and the concrete had deteriated/blown. I broke out the old concrete and put a new slab in (approx 100mm depth) and it will be cured for a good 10 weeks at least. My question if anyone can help is the old tiles which I salvaged (approx 60%) are a bit of a mess and I need to clean then. What is the best way to go about this and products to use. Some are just dirty, some have old bits of concrete/grout over them when the tiles were laid over previoulsy, some have concrete underneath from where they salvaged by myself. I am not a proffesional tiler and my knowledge of products available is not broad. I am going to use Mapei Keraquick as an adhesive (can I use Keraflex? would it give me more working time?).
I am going to seal the slab with Primer G or can i do it with PVA or SBR.
What grout would you recommend as the tiles are the small black and white squares (53x53)/triangles/rectangles. (Probally use 1mm spacers..see below)
Also I have managed to keep approx 15% of the path and will be tying into this. The tiles look as though there is little or no gap between them. I will need to keep this layout and so am thinking of using 1mm spacers, though I know this is not good for expansion/contraction but it will be better than butting them together as I think that is how they were laid originally.
Any help on any of the above would be very gratefull as the Mrs is nagging me to get it done.

T

Time's Ran Out

An interesting project and I wish you well!
Have you any pictures of the tiles.