Discuss Using Rubi Tile cutter on porcelain in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

T

tilerjo2009

Hi all

I have a problem cutting porcelain tiles with my new Rubi tile cutter (TS-60 Plus). Although I am an amateur tiler (as in a fairly skilled DIY way) I have successfully tiled in ceramic previously, but this is my first foray into porcelain. My (very expensive) Porcelain tiles are 400 x 400 and dont snap cleanly unless I am scoring appoximately in the center. I am trying to cut 280 / 120 but they snap successfully down to about 2/3 of the way then veer off to the side.

I bought some cheapo tiles from B&Q to practice on which worked like a dream. I thought they were porcelain but maybe I was wrong!

Any tips gratefully received!

Cheers

B

BTB

I have experienced this before when the breaking point on the Rubi had flattened through use, but if yours is new this shouldn't be the case.

Try spinning the tile and applying pressure at both ends of the scored line.

T

tkm18

Where are they from?

Used a 400x400 porcy from CTD last year that had to be wet cut.

Might just be that the tiles you have wont cut right with a manual cutter.

D

DHTiling

On the single point breakers like the ts 60 etc...you have to what is called shock the tile...

By this i mean when you pull the breaker handle you pull it with a quick short sharp burst....making sure the tile is laid flat and some presuure from the free hand is applied to the opposite end of the tile on the peice of tile you wish to break off.

Also you can score the back of the tile and break upside down, that can work as well or as a last resort break over the handle after scoring but wear gloves...

I would say a movable breaker rubi is better for fully vitrified tiles.:thumbsup:..something like the TX or TR series cutters.

D

dagger

people will moan but the ts60plus is my main cutter,

anyway, to get around this problem