Tile Forum | America Tile Forum

Welcome to America Tile Forum, the USA Tile Industry. The Tile Association of America.

Discuss re-tiling walls plasterboard advice replace or add a backing board ? in the Canada area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

I

Isidoro

Hello

I am planning to refurbish the bathroom in my house. and I am not a professional

The walls tiles need to be removed and I am expecting the plasterboard will get ruined.

What is the best approuch

should I replace the old plasteboard with a cement board
(like backing board aquapanel from wickes)

or could I just put the the new cement board on top of the original plasterboard using screw and adhesive ?

I suppose the second will be easier

thanks a lot

Isidoro

I

ianflem

Re: re-tiling walls plasterboard advice replace or add a backing boa

You could just Replace the plasterboard with new plasterboard and tank out wet area's.

I

Isidoro

Hello Ianflem

thanks for your reply

So from your experience for walls iwould it be easier to replace plasterboard ? instead of put a backing board on top ?

thanks a lot

Isidoro

I

Ian

How is the current plasterboard fixed? Is it dot and dabbed to the block/brick or screwed to studs? Either way, it's a better job to replace rather than cover it over. Unless you are fitting heavy stone tiles, the cement board really isn't necessary, plasterboard is much cheaper also.

I

Isidoro

3 walls are internal so I am expecting are screwed but the external one could be dabbed
I suppose the dabbed one are difficult to remove.

the tiles are ceramic but they are a bit heavy: weight is 16 kg /m2 but I suppose it still possible to use normal plasterboard
however if I go for something like hardiebacker could it be pssible to replace the previous plasteboard for the walls ?

thanks a lot

Reaction score

Yes is the answer.
Seems you want to use Hardiebacker, so use Hardi

I

ianflem

Isidoro,