Search the forum,

Discuss Crackle Glaze tile discoloured in the Australia Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

D

dodd4721

Shower.jpg I work as a self employed tiler and after moving in to my new home decided to re fit the bathroom and install a shower tray and frameless enclosure. I purchased 6 square metres of antique smooth crackle glaze tiles from Walls & Floors.co.uk and used them for the two walls of the shower enclosure. The tiles were sealed twice with LTP crackle glaze sealer before use and instructions were followed exactly. The tiles were applied to fully tanked and sealed shower walls using Mapei adhesive, the shower wall profile brackets were fitted to fully tiled and grouted walls as per the manufacturers fitting installation procedure.The wall grout used was Mapei Kerapoxy epoxy grout.
The corner tiles in both corners of the bottom row of the shower enclosure have changed colour completely from cream to a uniform and even mid putty grey, in addition the edges of some of the other tiles have developed a grey edge to them also, when the tiles were fitted they were not discoloured in any way and the problem has developed after 2 weeks of use.
The thought of having to strip out all of the tiles and starting again is too much to bear, can anyone offer any advice or does anyone know of this happening before? I'm hoping that it may be a case of letting the tiles dry out and resealing but I fear this may not be the case?
Any help or advice would be very much appreciated.

Last edited by a moderator:

Sean Kelly

TF
Arms
Reaction score
I've just looked at the Walls & Floors website and although it does not say anything about where you can and can't put these tiles it does however show a picture of the tiles with a toothbrush and cup!!