Search the forum,

Discuss Setting out, help please ! in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

J

J.D

Hi, first post to this forum. I am about to lay 80m2 of unfilled tumbled travertine floor tiles. They will run through 4 rooms kitchen, utility, hall and loo. They are in crates 33.17 m2 in 4 different sizes, 200x200, 200x400, 400x400 and 400x600. I have checked and leveled where needed the floors (all screeded). I am reasonably happy about laying and grouting, im a brickie by trade (not that thats much use ) and have layed limestone flooring before but only in one size. that is where i am stuck i have not layed a random pattern in 4 sizes and am scratching my head as how best to sett it out and where to lay the first tiles. Also once started should i use a completly random pattern trying to use all sizes, or a repeating random patern (if so any sugestions with the 4 sizes?). Help and advice most welcome as dont want to mess it up before ive started ! Oh and does everyone agree 3mm spacing best for these style of tile. Thanks.

C

CTD Marie

Hi there we have a range of travertine that is called french pattern and comes in various sizes.

Please see the attached as the kind of pattern.

Soory its a little dark.

Attachments

• 20080515164514435.pdf
    61 KB · Views: 59
Last edited by a moderator:
T

Turkish

:1eye: Hate to say so Marie but i still can`t see it???

Turkish

Last edited by a moderator:
C

CTD Marie

Its on the first reply sorry having one of those days and 2 minutes to home time.

J

J.D

Thanks. Think ive got my head round it. Basicly i am using a roman opus layout using the smallest tile ie 200 x 200 as the basis for setting out to avoid small cuts . cheers !

J

J.D

Thanks. Great forum V helpfull . Going to chill with a beer now and dive in tommorrow. will let you know how it goes ! may well be back if things dont go to plan !! Thanks again. :grin:

Reply to Setting out, help please ! in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com