Search the forum,

Discuss Pricing crisis in the Australia Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

I

Ian

When I was a newbie I used to price everything by the metre. I remember doing a block of 14 flats and priced the kitchen splash backs at £20 per m and they were 2.35 m2 each £47 per kitchen! Only managed one a day as I'd only been tiling 12 months or so. Hard way to learn my lesson.

R

RDTiling

When I was a newbie I used to price everything by the metre. I remember doing a block of 14 flats and priced the kitchen splash backs at £20 per m and they were 2.35 m2 each £47 per kitchen! Only managed one a day as I'd only been tiling 12 months or so. Hard way to learn my lesson.

A lesson I am learning now, but I'm getting better at estimating number of hours involved.

i completely agree with the post Neale put on that thread, with regards to starting out cheap and you'll get a reputation for it - I'm learning that lesson too!

S

Stef

Know the feeling Bri, been there done that!!
Kitchens are probably the worst as you look at it & say 5m2, doddle then look at the clock 6hrs later & your still at it.
Over the years you get an eye for it but there's always 1 or 2 a year that catch you out!!

I

Ian

Know the feeling Bri, been there done that!!
Kitchens are probably the worst as you look at it & say 5m2, doddle then look at the clock 6hrs later & your still at it.
Over the years you get an eye for it but there's always 1 or 2 a year that catch you out!!

Absolutely mate, it's always the small jobs that catch me out, I never make mistakes with the full houses, probably because I give the big quotes more attention.

John Benton

TF
Arms
Reaction score
Absolutely mate, it's always the small jobs that catch me out, I never make mistakes with the full houses, probably because I give the big quotes more attention.

And add a couple of hundred for contingency, something you can't do on a kitchen splash back