Search the forum,

Discuss old style victorian tiling in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

M

mark c

hello all,

will be starting work on my own house in the next couple of weeks,
just basic tiling apart from the hall/entrance which the missus wants done in the old 4inch diamond victorian style,borders the works.

have been a tiler for a good few years so it should be ok.

but,

its my house so has to be perfect or i'm in trouble.

so any tips would be great as i have never done this type of tiling before.

cheers

B

basshunter

id be tempted to dry lay to get the layout spot on.

sounds like a nice challenge!enjoy

M

mark c

what would be the best fixing method,ie normal adhesive or a concrete screed because would'nt be able to use much more than an 8mm trowel.has anyone done this kind of tiling before?

D

DHTiling

hello mark.....i have done a few geometric type floors........Original style do some very nice designs.......if you are using a border then this needs to be positioned first and then the outside bits and then in-fill the middle.....just depends on the design really........have a look at some of the designs from there site.....you can buy them from CTD as well.........Might be worthwhile using a slow setting adhesive to allow you to adjust if needed.........

Here is alink to some of there designs and fixing guides.........

http://www.originalstyle.com/technical_guides.htm

good luck...

M

mark c

thanks dave

that guide was very helpfull.

not too sure about using a 3 to 6mm trowell as stated.

had better make sure the floor is perfect and level before i start me thinks.

thanks again :thumbsup:

mark

M

mark c

yep will be cutting the borders myself should be fun with the mitred corners and so on.

T

theyomper