Search the forum,

Discuss Help with floor prep !! i'm a noob. in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

B

bobski

Hi Guys,

Great forum you have here very helpful guy's !!

I have searched loads of posts but can't find some answers to my qestions,

Im tiling my kitchen floor and side room. I have taken up the tiles in the kitchen and the sticky back tiles under that and i'm left with a black kind of membrane? its about 1/2 inch thick and is fairly flat few dips here and there.

My question is it ok to tile direct to this surface or should I prime first? if so which primer and adhesive should I use?

Also the kitchen tile area is 7ft by 4.5 and the dips in the floor are only slight say 1/8 of inch in the middle. should I take the dip out with slc or just build that bit up?

Thanks

Rob

B

bigandy

Hi Guys,

Great forum you have here very helpful guy's !!

I have searched loads of posts but can't find some answers to my qestions,

Im tiling my kitchen floor and side room. I have taken up the tiles in the kitchen and the sticky back tiles under that and i'm left with a black kind of membrane? its about 1/2 inch thick and is fairly flat few dips here and there.

My question is it ok to tile direct to this surface or should I prime first? if so which primer and adhesive should I use?

Also the kitchen tile area is 7ft by 4.5 and the dips in the floor are only slight say 1/8 of inch in the middle. should I take the dip out with slc or just build that bit up?

Thanks

Rob
Hi Rob,
it's hard to say what the membrain is,any chance of pictures?also what age is floor?

Priming depends on the adhesive you are planning to use, as they all have differant technical specifications.Just don't use PVA!

The dips are n't that bad but why not use slc to give you the best possible start to acheive the best possible finish!

D

doug boardley