Search the forum,

Discuss Confidence boosting course leading to NVQ in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

B

buddha1964

Hi, a little background history before I get into questions..

My name is Paul I am 45 years old, I have been employed in the building trade for most of my adult life. For the last 7 years I have worked for my father in laws small construction firm..

My duties were to drive the all terrain forklift and dumper on site, assist in the day to day running of the site e.g keeping the site clean, accepting deliveries, collecting materials, driving machines, assisting trades men, making good and last but not least tiling..

I have tiled some 40 houses in the 7 years of my employment all 4 and 5 bedroom houses with a least 2 bathrooms and of course the kitchens, floors and walls.
I am self taught, so I know I may do some things the hard way or incorrect way. My work was to a standard that the site agent and father in law were happy with although they are not perfectionists and they were getting the job done on the cheap.. I also have carried out about 10 or so private jobs in the 7 years, walls and floors, all the customers were happy with my work..

I have now been made redundant as my father in law has retired and I am looking to start my own business in tiling with my father in laws help. I have all the tools and a van and think I am nearly ready to take the leap into self employment. I just need to be shown the correct way to set out, measure up , price up etc....

(1)I understand that as from 2010 I will need NVQ to work on sites am I correct?

(2) Which course should I be looking at attending e.g 1 week, 2 week etc?

(3) As I am aiming to get an NVQ, I understand that I need to supply evidence of employment e.g pictures and references from customers and employers and then be assessed on my practical ability over 2 days, is this correct?