Search the forum,

Discuss Underfloor heating - Tile marks - Help! in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

K

kohini

Hi all

I am a newbie..

Last summer we had wet underfloor heating installed in our extension. In the last couple of months I have noticed grey marks appearing on the cream porcelain tiles where the underfloor heating is. They are a series of parallel lines (straight and curved lines)

This was covered with concrete and a layer of porcelain tiles. The tiler at the time assured that the correct adhesive was used.

Does anyone know what could cause this or has seen this before? I am guessing it is the heating of the adhesive, and the patterned parrellel line could be the way the adhesive was applied with the semaring tool?? Will this get any worse?

I have attached a couple of photos, one of the tile marks (should see some faint horizontal lines) and another of the underfloor heating pipe layout prior to concrete)

Any advice greatly appreciated

Attachments

• DSC01807.jpg
    46.1 KB · Views: 91
  • DSC00820.jpg
    101.7 KB · Views: 54

Dan

Admin
Staff member
Reaction score
How long has it been down? There still could be moisture in the floor.

The temperature should be far to low to cause colour changes as the temperature changes. I'm pretty sure your porcelain floor would need thousands of degrees before that turned a different colour.

Does the colour turn back when it's off?
How long has it been down?
If you leave it on do the 'lines' appear to get bigger? (Suggesting it might be moisture coming out of the floor perhaps?)

F

Fred

Thats really odd I reckon. Could it be that the type of tile used conducts the heat in such a way it shows though it?

K

kohini

Thansk for the speedy reply!

Just attached another photo from further back...

I will have to do further testing with the heating on/off and feedback to you. The floor has been down since July 2008.