Search the forum,

Discuss Tiling a slightly damp floor. in the Australia Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

I

Ishy16

Hi Guys,

Apoligies if i post int he wrong section its my first time ive used this site and i hope to be using it quite often now as i have seen some good advice posted.

I have a 2 bedroom ground floor Flat i need to get tiled, im fairly good at tiling myself so will give it a shout. Only problem i have is as i took up the lino i noticed that the floor was quite wet.

The floor has been allowed to dry and there are still some patches of wet i think due to the ground floor level being higher on one side. When the floor was done it had hardcore and the black damp proof membrane put it followed by the concrete and screed. Im looking to tile the floor but i was thinking if i do the following would this be ok, any reccomednations would be great

1)Prep the floor so no dust or holes,
2) Install the Waterproof tape to the edges of each room and halway up the wall where the gound level is higher
3) Apply the Damp Proof Membrane
4) Once dry reapply the Damp Proof Membrane with sand mixed in so it has gives a good adhesive for the tile adhesive to set on
5) Tile ontop

Can you please let me know if that is ok and what the ideal tape and membrane would be to use?
I have looked on the forum and you guys have suggested Mapei Aqua Defense Waterproofing Membrane or Ardex
Also what would be the best adhesive to use to stick the tiles to the floor once it has this membrane?

Ideally i would be looking for supplies i could purchase from the Birmingham Area.

Thanks in advance.

Regards
Ish

Andy Allen

TF
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
Eh right lets start from the beginning. Are you shore its damp and not just wet from where the lino has been sweating. Seen it loads of times when ripping up lino floor sweats underneath but should dry out..

T

TJ Smiler