Search the forum,

Discuss Latex Screed? in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

C

cjbombero

Just finishing up a kitchen, bathroom, utility and cloakroom in a redevelopment job and the customer has asked me to re-tile his kichen floor. The room is about 20 sq m with three doorways off of it, He has started to take up some of the existing ceramic tiles and there is a lot of old adhesive left on the concrete substrate.

The guy wants to have 300 x 300 pocelain floor tiles so I think the floor is going to have to be srceeded to give me half a chance (maybe only 3mm just to level the floor out). The problem is I have never done this before and don't want to **** it up!

Any advice on what products to use, how much they cost and how much time I should allow to screed and to dry would be very much apreciated. Also any tips on application would help a lot.

Thanks

cjbombero

T

tile55

A self levelling compound is your answer, cost about £12-£18 pounds for 25kg bags, float over the surface using a flat trowel in an even motion much like spreading tile addy. Leave to go off slightly then sprinkle some water over and smooth over with the trowel.
If you use a rapid setting self leveller you should be able to tile over in a few hours.

If cost is an issue then the wickes self leveller costs about £16 and is quite good.:8:

Andy Tiler

TF
Arms
Reaction score
hi mate the best screed i have used is weber they do all types of screed for all situations. u can contact weber.co.uk(if u contact a weber rep u might get a freebe and a bit of help ) on where to buy. ctd maybe.a 25kg bag will do about 3sqm 3mm thick just mark out 3m bays and pour one bag for this area spread it out with a flat trowel and the best way to get it flat is to buy a spiked screeding roller and roll over the area u have just screeded and do the same with the whole floor :thumbsup:if u want to pm me i can give u numbers

C

cjbombero