Search the forum,

Discuss Hi all, tiling a bath panel, need advice in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

S

space_monkey

Evening all,

Great site been trawling for hours getting lots of good tips.

firstly apologies I'm new to this tiling game and need a little advise on tiling a bath so my questions maybe a little simple. Any help though would be much appreciated.
Basically I'm replacing my bathroom and want to tile the bath front and end panels. Plan is to remove bath (although the bath does not sit on floorboards, is this normal in a flat? It was a suprise to me!), tile floor, replace bath, build frame and attach backing board and tile.
Does anyone have any suggestions on

1) how thick does the backer board need to be
2) Can I use ply or will I need a backer board?
3) what is the best way to ensure I get a nice finish but allow removal of the tiles bath front panel if necessary (as the shower pump sits under the bath). I was thinking of tiling the board then attaching to the frame with screws and filling the screw holes with silicon, or is this a really bad idea?

I'm using 250 x 330 ceramic tiles so hoping the weight will not be an issue

Eternally greatful for any suggestions

Thanks all

Dan

Admin
Staff member
Reaction score
Welcome to tilersforums.com | Tile Forums | Tiling Forum!

Welcome to tilersforums.com space_monkey. Thanks for introducing yourself.

Alan.P

TF
Reaction score
Thanks all

1) how thick does the backer board need to be

6mm will do, build your frame to suit allowing for tile and adhesive so that the tile front falls just under the lip of the bath and not proud of it.

2) Can I use ply or will I need a backer board?

Backerboard would be best, plasterboard second choice.