Search the forum,

Discuss Wall Trowels in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

G

grumpygrouter

Good question, I await answers from the "old Timers" with interest as I am new to this too. Also, would 6mm be the norm for 100mm square tiles? I did a job with this size tile and felt that 6mm was a bit messy would 4mm have been a better tool to use?

G

GazTech

There are many nothched floats available,these are what you refer to as a trowels,trowels are usually small for pointing,flat edge or gauging for flat buckets or for making margins in concrete.A notched float type which we apply tile adhesive,should be no deeper a notch than the tile you are fixing,and the smaller the tile the closer together the teeth,hence the mosaic float is like an afro comb.It matters not the type of notch,round or square,but traditionally the notches were rounded don't know why,I always prefered round notch and had one for walls and floors that lasted for 7 years it finished up nearly triangular lol....here endeth the lesson from this 'OLD TIMER':wink_smile: you cheeky young pups

Last edited by a moderator:
G

grumpygrouter

Thanks Gaz, Old Timers was meant to refer to time in the trade not advancing years, I'm 49 ffs!!!

Alan.P

TF
Reaction score
It matters not the type of notch,round or square,but traditionally the notches were rounded don't know why,I always prefered round notch and had one for walls and floors that lasted for 7 years it finished up nearly triangular lol....here endeth the lesson from this 'OLD TIMER':wink_smile: you cheeky young pups

Again, so many questions form me, sorry to hi-jack the thrread, I thought the shape of the notch was to do with coverage ? I.E. a 6mm square notch would give you 50% adhesive on the wall and 50% taken off with each trowel / float sweep, a 6mm V notch would give you 75% coverage etc etc.

Have I got this wrong ? Thanks in advance.

G

GazTech