Search the forum,

Discuss Tiling on Timber Floor 1st Level in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

P

pendleh

Hi there

I did a job recently where I plyed out with 12mm marine ply then tiled. Customer has had a second opinion from a firm which they suggest I should have installed ditra matting they reckon the floor will crack over time. Is this correct? Tiles are porcelain. Any advise appreciated.

Howard

F

faithhealer

If the floor was decent to start with and ply was screwed correctly and correct adhesive and grout were used I can't see a problem. Perhaps this other firm are just trying to rubbish you because they didn't get the job!

beanz

TF
Reaction score
Why'd the customer get a second opinion after the job was done!?! Just tell em you could have added the matting and the extra cost, but thought is was unnecessary.
I'm not sure what benefit the matting would give anyway!?! As i understand it (and i am very new to tiling, so take this with a pinch of salt) Ditra matting won't stop deflection, if there is any.

A

AllurePTS

Why'd the customer get a second opinion after the job was done!?! Just tell em you could have added the matting and the extra cost, but thought is was unnecessary.
I'm not sure what benefit the matting would give anyway!?! As i understand it (and i am very new to tiling, so take this with a pinch of salt) Ditra matting won't stop deflection, if there is any.

thats how I see it too ...no need for ditra matting on that - anybody else ?

D

DHTiling

Get them to explain how the ditra will stop them cracking if it is the deflection they are on about..because ditra does not compensate for deflection......:thumbsup:

P

pendleh

Hi Guys thanks for your input on this. Basically I messed up the job adhesive was flush with the tile. I work nights its not easy at the mo. Tried taking the adhesive out with a fein and chipped two tiles.