Search the forum,

Discuss Tiling A Bathtub/ shower encloser in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

J

JayBird1

Hi
I'm a newbie starting a marble tiling project on my bathtub/ shower.
I've been 2 a bunch of tile shops looking for the right tile. My wife claims I'm color challenged. When I saw this marble at a Home Depot I knew it was what I was looking for. After taking it home & looking at it in the bathroom the colors worked perfectly. Now the fun begins.

Do I have to be concerned with translucense? The tile is light colored with rose tones.

When tiling with marble are there any unique considerations?

Glad to be aboard. Thanks In Advance (TIA) for any & all help! :shades_smile:

Jay D.

V

Varley

Hi JayBird1, welcome to the forums.

If the marble you are using is light coloured then use a white adhesive and possibly even back skim the tile to prevent any shadows showing through.

The tiles will have to be sealed as marble is very porus, I use Lithofen Stain Stop, but there are other good sealers on the market, just make sure which ever brand you use that the sealer is suitable for marble.

Good luck m8! :)
----
Added post information (due to double posting):
----
You will also need to make sure the weight ratio of the walls is correct for the weight of the tiles you are using, plaster render can support a weight of up to 20kg per sm.
----
----
Plus the adhesive should be a flexi cement based.

Last edited by a moderator:
G

GazTech

Hi JayBird1, welcome to the forums.

If the marble you are using is light coloured then use a white adhesive and possibly even back skim the tile to prevent any shadows showing through.

The tiles will have to be sealed as marble is very porus, I use Lithofen Stain Stop, but there are other good sealers on the market, just make sure which ever brand you use that the sealer is suitable for marble.

Good luck m8! :)
----
----