Discuss Tile size and filling in walls. in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

J

Jimb

Hi I'm going to tile my bathroom with 300*416*9.4 ceramic tiles and have a couple of questions, firstly I have read that for larger tiles it's better to use a cement adhesive so was wondering if these will be alright with a normal adhesive or not (they look large to me but there was some absolutely massive ones in the shop)?

Secondly I've cut 2 channels out of the wall running into the loft for the pipes to go into a new shower, I don't really know what I should use to fill in the gap and bury the pipes, I would like it to be something that dries fast so I can get tiling (I've see you should leave plaster for 4 weeks). It's probably obvious what to use but I have no experience.

Thanks in advance.
Jim.

Last edited by a moderator:
W

White Room

If your,ve got to pack out any tiles with the tubbed gear, It will take age to set so use powdered addy and use it to fill in any chases in your wall.

Last edited by a moderator:
D

DHTiling

Hello jim and welcome to tilers forums.............

I would use a cement based adhesive if i was you.....and just fill in the channel with the adhesive.........prime any areas first........:)...

J

Jimb

Thanks guys, I think I will use BAL Goldstar adhesive (unless you could recommend another), should I fill in the channel with it and let it dry then tile over after or fill in and tile at the same time? Also it wont effect the copper pipes will it?

D

DHTiling

BAL gold star is grey adhesive...you will be better off using BAL CTF3 it is white..

W

White Room

Good point, With cement the pipes should taped over with masking tape or similar so the addy don,t have contact with copper, Use white adhesive if your grout joints are going to be a light colour

D

DHTiling