Search the forum,

Discuss Struggling with 3-way mitre trim in the Canada Tile Advice area at TilersForums.com.

R

robbieee

Hello all,

Its my first attempt at a 3-way mitre trim like here:

DSCF0259.jpg

I have followed a how-to guide on here and on youtube but i just cant get it right!!! Can someone help or shed any light why i am so stupid??? (haha!)

S

Spud

are you cutting the trim with trim shears or using a hack saw? some trim crushes out of shape slightly when you use blunt shears

Alan.P

TF
Reaction score
A lot ( well everything ) depends on the shape of the trim, if it's been crushed out of shape then you will never get it right.

R

robbieee

Its not crushed... I am using a mitre block and a junior hacksaw.

I am ok with the 2 bits of trim but its when the 3rd bit is introduced, i just cant get it.

John Benton

TF
Arms
Reaction score
The trim must be a perfect quadrant i.e. quarter circle. If not you will never get a perfect 3 way mitre.

R

robbieee

Avoid 3 way mitres and corner pieces, just use L shaped trim.

Where would i get a cream L shaped piece? I need to get this done tomorrow as i have the day off. Topps tiles?

The trim must be a perfect quadrant i.e. quarter circle. If not you will never get a perfect 3 way mitre.

Thats what i am thinking... I have attempted it a few times now. Usually if i don't get something first time, i will get it on the 2nd or even on the 3rd attempt.

Reaction score