Discuss Newbie here in the The Welcome Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

Reaction score
Hi Im neil, 36 from Brighton.

Im currently doing an entry level course to see if i want to change careers and get into tiling. Im really enjoying the course and am surprising myself with quality of work, conaidering this is the first time ive tiled.

I apologise in advance if any of my questions have been asked 100 times.

I will come back with some questions later.

Im basically here to gain advice on whether its the career for me.

Many thanks

Neil

Reaction score
Hi Im neil, 36 from Brighton.

Im currently doing an entry level course to see if i want to change careers and get into tiling. Im really enjoying the course and am surprising myself with quality of work, conaidering this is the first time ive tiled.

I apologise in advance if any of my questions have been asked 100 times.

I will come back with some questions later.

Im basically here to gain advice on whether its the career for me.

Many thanks

Neil
Hey Neil
Welcome to the trade. Like you I changed career recently from aviation due to this Covid pandemic.
I did have a City and Guilds in Bricklaying which covered tiling so I dusted it off and started up.
I live in Guernsey in the Channel Islands and up until 4 days ago we were living life normally with no restrictions and there was lots of work. Today were in full lockdown like you guys.
You will only know if its the career for you as time goes on. You will make plenty of mistakes as I have, but nothing horrendus so far.
The feeling of satisfaction when you do a good job makes it worthwhile.
The hardest thing for me was quoting jobs but as times gone on you get the hang of it. Just be careful to allow for more difficult jobs, i.e niches, wet rooms etc. The preparation is definately the key.