Tile Forum | America Tile Forum

Welcome to America Tile Forum, the USA Tile Industry. The Tile Association of America.

Discuss Help with limestone tiling in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

E

Edmund

Hello everyone!

I'm new to the forum and am soon to start my bathroom update so I thought I'd try and get some tips and and answers to a few questions I have before I commit trowel to adhesive.

I am not a complete novice to tiling and plumbing but this is my most ambitious project to date.

I am replacing my shower cubicle and tiling it to full height and tiling the remainder of the bathroom to dado height. In terms of materials I will be using:
1. Rochelle polished limestone tiles, 30.5cm x30.5cm. I have sealer which I will apply to the face and edges before applying the tiles.
2. wedi tile board to replace the current soggy mess behind the tiles in the current shower.
3. tiles will go over plasterboard for the remainder of the bathroom which I will seal with Bal primer
4. Dunlop adhesive and Dunlop limestone grout

My questions are:
1. what depth of adhesive should I be using, thin or thick bed and what depth and size of notched trowel should I use (any recommended trowels?)
2. what tools are recommended for grouting? I've never used a float before so thoughts gratefully received.
3. I have some diamond core drill bits for cutting holes for service pipes. Where pipes already protrude above what will be the finished depth of the tiled wall should I drill holes in the tile before fitting, or should I cut back the pipework, apply the tile and redo the pipework (the wall is a partition wall and I have access to the pipework from behind).

Any other general tips and guidance will be very welcome.

Thanks very much! Edmund

W

wetdec

Rochel is one of Mandarins, its 10mm thick and will need sealing b4 you grout to be safe the stone is Molianos I think......

D

doug boardley

Hello everyone!