Search the forum,

Discuss UFH advise for novice newbie. in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

R

ryan2036

Newbie here and excuse if I sound too dumb.

I am planning for electric UFH in my new Kitchen that is now being installed. Floor currently is laminate floor but I found that it has small square tile under the laminate floor. What is the best way of laying UFH?
Options are:
- Can I use primer on the existing tile, 6mm insulation board (to cut cost), UFH and then new tile.
- Should I remove existing tile, level the floor and then insulation?
- I need to tile around 14 Sq m with heating area of 12 sq m. What UFH system (make/brand) should I use?
- 6mm board or 10mm board?
- I have a radiator in the kitchen which I am not planning to move hence UFH wont be a primary source of heat. So what wattage should I use? 100w/150w/200w?
- Mat or cable?

Will appreciate all reply with suggestions and recommendations.

Thanks

G

Gazzer

Remove the tiles if at all possible. Use thickest insulation possible too (at least 10mm IMO ).
150w minimum again IMO and mat or cable , which ever you prefer.

B

bugs183

Remove the tiles if you can, this cuts down on the height gain, if it all comes up messy then prime and level.
Stick 10mm boards down to this, and you'll have a lovely flat floor to work on. Tape joints with tape recommended by board manufacturer.
Lay mats, and glue gun any cables that stick up, or use duct tape either way get these flat or you'll have nowt but trouble trying to level. Cable is right faff, can't recommend that unless the room has lots of corners and angles.
Level over the whole floor, Mapei renovation screed is great for this. Then fix tiles, Mapei Kerafle Maxi is a lovely adhesive to use, it's slow setting, but great to work with.

B

bugs183

I'd try taking them up as getting adhesive to stick to tiles can cost you a fair old bit.
Try chiselling a few up, an sds drill with a breaker bit on will do it.

U

Uheat - Keith