Discuss Tiling over The Wunda Rapid Response in the Tiling on Underfloor Heating area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

Reaction score
Hi

I have ordered the Wunda Rapid Response underfloor heating for my kitchen.

We were going to have LVT flooring before but have now decided to have porcelain tiles.

I have looked at the forum and people are saying that In order to prevent the tiles to break or crack, the surface needs to be fully prepared with levelling compound and some 4mm tile backer boards. Even though wunda said we can tile straight on top of their system.

I have no idea about this stuff as I have zero experience in this field. Can someone advise me what to do in order to prevent cracks or breaks of my tiles. So this information I can relay to a tiler I get to do my flooring.

Dan

Admin
Staff member
Reaction score
Yeah they always say that. Don't try tile straight over it'll cause a nightmare. Tape it all down well, then use a self-levelling compound (that's "flexible"). Then tile on that, with adhesive and grout that's flexible and cement-based.

The insulation boards are to go under it, so if it's not been used already then don't worry about that. But the heating will heat the slab under it then heat come into the room so you'll need to use it more like a storage heater by leaving it on longer and turning it off earlier once warm etc.

Reaction score
Yeah they always say that. Don't try tile straight over it'll cause a nightmare. Tape it all down well, then use a self-levelling compound (that's "flexible"). Then tile on that, with adhesive and grout that's flexible and cement-based.

The insulation boards are to go under it, so if it's not been used already then don't worry about that. But the heating will heat the slab under it then heat come into the room so you'll need to use it more like a storage heater by leaving it on longer and turning it off earlier once warm etc.
Hi

Thank you for your advice.