Search the forum,

Discuss Terracotta synthetic seal in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

P

PhilH

Hi I am new to the tile forum and have looked at the advice given when I have been laying tiles myself. I am renovating a house in France which has terracotta flooring .The house ( and floor)is about 50 years old,floor is clean but dull and I think that the tiles are unglazed.
I was looking for a seal preferably high gloss that is simple to apply and low maintenance going forward.
I have looked at Universeal High Gloss terracotta seal or a similar product from LTP and Fila.
Can anyone recommend a product that is
a/quick to apply
b/ long lasting (more than a year!)

How long will the floor retain its high gloss.I was told by a tile shop that a high gloss will 'traffic' and lose its sheen in more well used areas but do not know over what time period.
I would appreciate any advice anyone can give me
thanks

T

Time's Ran Out

The products you have quoted will give you that quick sheen and protection of the terracotta, but will fade over a couple of months with a basic cleaning programme.
Always use a good doormat to remove grit/dirt and brush often with a soft head brush to retain the surface quality.
From experience I've always gone the route of boiled linseed oil sealant and traffic wax to polish, and although not the lowest of maintenance methods, it give the patina build up that not only protects the longevity of the terracotta surface but also enhances the overall appearance of what is a wonderful product.

P

PhilH

Thanks for quick response and advise on maintenance which makes a lot of sense.
As the property is a holiday home I was looking for the lazy route !
Are the products that I suggested all of the same quality?

S

Spud