Discuss no confidence for Travertine job in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

B

bluevin123

Hi,
I have been tiling for 2 years now and have done about 35 various domestic jobs, of which every customer seems to be happy with which is pleasing.
I hate tiling bathrooms because of the size and the awkwardness and lately have had bad walls.
I now realise this is my fault as I should get the customer to have them plastered to make it easier for myself and to get a better finished look.

The last job I done was a bathroom for a mate and I used 6 tubs of Bal green star,it was 15.5m2...mad I know and not good,but it looked ok in the end and he was more than happy...I pretty much had to back butter every tile and it took me four days to tile.:whistling:

Ive just got really fed up with tiling lately and maybe fancy trying something different from tiling, I just seem to have all the crap jobs and have a nightmare on each one, I know it is lack of experience but its bloody frustrating at times.
The ideal would be to work alongside another tiler just to see how they work, and try to speed up.

Anyway a friend put me onto a bloke who's renevating a house to sell.
I didnt really want to do it as my confidence has been knocked a bit, but I looked at the job and it is two bathrooms, one is gonna have a bath and the other a shower...It is completely empty and it is just plaster board and plastered walls which I hope should go up a treat...This I am starting on Monday...He also wants the whole ground floor tiled, it is just over 50m2 and he is using Travertine...this could be a nice earner but I feel it could be too big a job for me and dont wish to look an idiot.
I have never touched Travertine,let alone work with it, and have heard it can be a nightmare to work with.