Tile Forum | America Tile Forum

Welcome to America Tile Forum, the USA Tile Industry. The Tile Association of America.

Discuss wetwall wall boards instead of tiles? in the Canada area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

M

Martino

A customer of mine has asked for wet wall (wall boards) in his shower cubicle, as i have never done this before (sounds pretty easy to do) im unsure as to talk them into tiles os just go with that they want?...

Has anyone had any experience of these?

C

charlie1

Or ask them which caravan do they want tiled lol. There is no place for that in a home!

T

Time's Ran Out

We did a showeroom at the end of last year and the whole of the shower area was completed in these boards (slate grey) and it looked fantastic. It complimented the rest of the walls and floor tiling perfectly. Not a fan of all the styles that are produced (fake marble/travertine/white) but since this was our own project I was very impressed with my workmanship:lol:.

T

tfs

The customer gets what the customer wants. It would be unfair to talk them out of this based on your own fitting prefference.

If you feel confident go for it.

In terms of tips, I would say

cut hieght a few mm smaller than required for easy fitting. Measure twice cut once as they say, its expensive stuff so if you are going to make a mistake make sure you cut it larger rather than small.

I would look at using the square edged stuff as this is easier to fit if the wall are not too great as you simply join edges with aliminium edging strips which are available in white or buff, chrome etc

One mistake I would imagine you could make with these (in shower area only) is if you are installing a mixer type shower get the distance between the cold and hot supply right

Wet wall makes installing cubicles and bath screens peice of cake 9just fix screw into the boards.