Tile Forum | America Tile Forum

Welcome to America Tile Forum, the USA Tile Industry. The Tile Association of America.

Discuss steam room in the America area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

kilty55

TF
Arms
Reaction score
hi all,okay i have a steam room to price after xmas its ina hotel complex with the possibility of a pool after it if the work is good and if i win the quote of course lol

1st off all i have no experience of doing pools or steam rooms its all domestic work i do so am looking for tips/dos/donts on how to aproach and price this,all to be mosaics i had a look on here but couldnt find too much info so any advice peeps would be great

i will also be looking for someone who has experience of this kind of work to come in on this job with me if i get it as it would be a great learning curve for me and also a good job for someone

R

Rob Z

Hi Kilty, any steam room job that we do gets done "by the book", which here means done by the steam room detail in the Tile Council of North America Handbook. Steam showers and steam rooms have legendary failures, so I think it's important to price them with enough to cover quality labor and materials, and if they won't go for it then it's DEFINATELY one to pass on. I can't help you with pricing but I can certainly talk to you about the methods we use here, if that would help you.

kilty55

TF
Arms
Reaction score
okay chaps and chappettes,ive been trying to dig out info on this job i have to go and price between xmas and new year,so far ive only really decided that im going to advise epoxy grout for the mosaics and the room to be tanked

another question the customer has is that currently he has benches in the room but would like the curved seats installed that are to be tiled in mosaics,excuse my ignorance but can you buy these pre made? any info on how or what these are made of would be great

M

MTiler