Tile Forum | America Tile Forum

Welcome to America Tile Forum, the USA Tile Industry. The Tile Association of America.

Discuss Sole Trader or Limited / Tile Installation failures in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

P

pendleh

Hi there

Im new to tiling and wondered when to go LTD in terms of reducing your liability and the size of job your fulfilling (based on price). Anyone a director of a tiling contractor?

I would also like to know what information is needed so that I ensure that I dont have a tile installation failure!! For example info on movement joints etc.

How does the domestic market compare with the commercial side of things. What markets should I focuse on. Thanks guys.

Best Wishes

Howard

S

Sully

Howard,

Those 3 questions could take an age to answer as they are very broad but here is a brief reply with my opinions.

Going Ltd - speak with your accountant about the pros and cons but don't just leap in there to 'reduce your liability'. If you are a sole trader and manage your clients very carefully when it comes to payments, then you should be able to avoid a sting. No guarantees but written quotes with payment terms clearly stated will help from the outset.

Ensuring that you don't get a tile installation failure - That ones easy! Do the job correctly, use quality materials that come with a manufacturers guarantee and follow BS standards and if in the unlikely event, you get a failure - call in the product manufacturers who will help you if you've kept 'your side of the bargain'. Have you had any training? If not, thread very very carefully :ninja: