Search the forum,

Discuss Getting my mate to do tiling..pity he cant seem to offer me any advice! in the America Tile Forum area at TilersForums.com.

M

mlangley1

Hi,

I'm a plumber by trade and doing up a bathroom..my bathroom.

Now I am being forced by stupid loyalty to get my mate since school to do the tiling and could never get away with getting someone else in.

Thing is..my mate is a bit dim.

Now I am installing a walk in shower, bath double basin and wall hung toilet into this bathroom.

Is it possible if I list out what I plan to do and you experienced tilers tell me if im warm, hot or bloody freezing.

Ok..so Ive taken up floorboards and layed down 18mm WBP softwood ply

I'm going to use a pre made former under the shower 900x900 and use a tanking kit.

I am going to cover the entire tiled area with Wickes fleecing membrane - floor and walls and cement board where the shower meets the tiled stud wall.

What should I use to prime the ply? - my mate uses PVA usually

Im putting in 4sqm of heating mat..what comes first the membrane or heating mat?

Is any old waterproof grout ok or should i be looking out for something else?

I also plan to shove some silicone in all the gaps around the ply before laying the membrane.

Any help is greatly appreciated and if any of you need advice on your boiler then just ask.

Mark
15 years boiler engineer

S

Stef

I take it your "MATE" thinks hes a tiler, he uses PVA, enough said.:thumbsdown:

Grout is not waterproof its water resistant, it will not break down when in contact with water.

Have a read through other threads & you will pick up everything you need to know, you have came to the right place as this forum is a god send for anyone that wants to know any aspect of tiling.

Welcome along, show your mate this site also!!:smilewinkgrin:

R

Rich

Hello and welcome to the forum.